Softball Travels To St. John Fisher for NCAA Regional

Softball Travels To St. John Fisher for NCAA Regional

ERIE, Pa. – The Penn State Behrend softball team will travel to Rochester, NY for the 2017 NCAA Division III Regional on May 12-14. The Lions (26-12) will face the hosts St. John Fisher (36-6) in the first round on Friday at 3:30 p.m.

Single-session tickets are $6.00 for adults, $4.00 for senior citizens/veterans, and $3.00 for students and children less than 12 years old. Children less than two years old are free.

William Patterson (28-11) and Manhattanville (30-13) are the remaining two teams that make up the regionals and will play in the other first round game at 1 p.m. The tournament is double elimination with the winner advancing to the Super Regionals, May 19-20.

Behrend was declared the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC) champion after the tournament was cancelled due to weather. The Lions claimed their third straight and eighth overall title as the No. 1 seed of the tournament. Behrend is making its seventh appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

The Cardinals won the Empire 8 Championship and Manhattanville was the winner of the Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom to earn bids to the NCAA Tournament. The Pioneers received an at-large bid to the national tournament.

Friday, May 12
Game 1: #2 William Patterson vs. #3 Manhattanville, 1 p.m.
Game 2: #1 St. John Fisher vs. #4 Penn State Behrend, 3:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 13
Game 3: winner of game 1 vs. winner of game 2, 11 a.m.
Game 4: loser of game 1 vs. loser of game 2, 1:30 p.m.
Game 5: winner of game 4 vs. loser of game 3, 4 p.m.
Sunday, May 14
Game 6: winner of game 3 vs. winner of game 5, noon
Game 7: same teams as game 6 (if necessary), 2:30 p.m.

There are 62 teams that are competing in the NCAA Division III Softball Championship Tournament. There are 14 four-team regional sites and two three-team regionals.  Forty-two conferences received automatic bids (Pool A) and one independent was selected for the championship from Pool B. The 19 remaining schools were selected on an at-large basis from the automatic qualifying conferences and the remaining independent institutions in Pool B.