Horn Shines at AMCC Swimming and Diving Championships

Horn Shines at AMCC Swimming and Diving Championships

ERIE, Pa. – Maryn Horn (Houston, TX/Jersey Village) broke four individual records and helped the Penn State Behrend women's swimming and diving team break four relay records to lead the Lions on day two of the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC) Championships held in the Junker Pool on Thursday.

Through 14 events of the championships, Behrend sits in first place with a team total of 238.5 points, followed by Cabrini in second with 167.5 and Alfred State in third (142).

Horn set four new records in the preliminaries of the 50 free, breaking the team, pool, amcc meet and amcc open records with a fast time of 24.24. In the finals, she repeated as champion with a 1-2 finish with a new time of 24.44. Jessica Wyckoff (Elma, NY/Iroquois) was second in 25.43 and Claire Mallick (Pittsburgh, PA/Woodland Hills) was fourth (26.48).

In addition breaking four records individually, Horn broke four more in relays. She set three in the 200 freestyle relay with Wyckoff, Gwendolyn Lowery (Bellefonte, PA/Bellefonte), Abigail Witmer (Herndon, PA/Herndon). The four made up the winning relay with a new team, AMCC meet and open record with a time of 1:39.98. She then set a new pool record in the final 400 medley relay along with Witmer, Kristin Owens (Erie, PA/McDowell) and Lowery for first place in 4:10.70.

Lowery was also crowned the AMCC Champion in the 200 IM for the second year in a row. She tallied a time of 2:12.79 for first place, Owens while took sixth (2:24.27).

Anna Rose Watterson (Baldwin, PA/Seton-La Salle) was fourth overall in the 500 freestyle with a time of 5:37.31.

Last night in the only swimming event, the 800 freestyle relay of Lowery, Wyckoff, Witmer and Watterson shattered a six-year AMCC meet and open record while breaking the pool record by 25 seconds with a new time of 8:08.28.

The Lions return to action tomorrow for day three of the AMCC Championships. Prelims begin at 10 a.m. followed by finals at 6 p.m.